Diagnosing Fuel Leak - Help Please

Engine troubles? Try here.
Hersir
United States of America

Diagnosing Fuel Leak - Help Please

Post by Hersir »

I'm hoping the power of the Pinzgauer hive mind can help me diagnose a fuel leak.

Yesterday I was driving my 710M and noticed a strong smell of gas. When I parked, I saw a steady drip of gas coming off the undercarriage close to the center tube across from the fuel tank. There was no leaking before I started driving and it stopped about 10 minutes after I parked. The filler tube area looks dry which made me think that it might be a sending unit seal, or possibly the fuel pump. The truck seemed to run fine at idle and at speed. I am not a mechanic but like to do the work I can do with basic tools. I'm trying to figure out if this is something I can fix with some new seals without dropping the tank or if I need to take it in to a shop.

Thanks all.
1975 710M (Swiss)
rmel
United States of America

Re: Diagnosing Fuel Leak - Help Please

Post by rmel »

Given the amount of fuel you are leaking you should be abler to spot the problem.

I'd remove the seats and Dog house, air filter and air intake manifold on top of the carbs.
This will expose most of the areas of interest. Then just get down to some basic inspection.

Attempt to try to identify any wet fuel spots with the engine OFF. Look around the base
and tops of the carbs, sides, hoses and fittings. It could be anything from a bad fuel line
to the carburetor bowls overfilling, or a fuel pump leak. Given the amount of fuel you seem
to be leaking you will probably spot the problem pretty quickly.
Puller: 71' 710K 2.7L EFI aka Mozo
Follower: Sankey MK 3, 3/4 Tonne
Rescue Pinz: 73' 712MK

Driver: Ron // KO0Q
Hersir
United States of America

Post by Hersir »