How to best activate my 4x4?

Diffs, axles, lockers, transmissions, portals, that kind of thing.
Pinzy

How to best activate my 4x4?

Post by Pinzy »

Im very new to manual 4x4 ing ( my Disco is 4L or 4H with 1 lever) so i need a little classroom session, please.

I took the Pinz out to the beach last weekend and it occurred to me, I don't know what I'm doing. It seems to me that throwing all the levers down cant be the best approach.

The sand is very deep and loose and since its heavily traveled, the ruts are deep and go in many directions, crossing them was challenging.

What worked, but i had jeeps passing me, was the first (closest to me) lever down. Is this the way to go or should i have all 3 levers down? also. I really needed to rev the engine to get through it.

Whats the lever (red knob) on the floor do?

TIA
1975 710M
1969 C10
1988 MB SL
1989 Ferrari
1997 MB E55
2004 LR Disco
2012 MB R350
2013 MB Sprinter
krick3tt

Re: How to best activate my 4x4?

Post by krick3tt »

Just to be sure I went out to my pinz and checked...no red lever on mine, so I don't understand what you mean. What year is yours?
Any man who thinks he can be happy and prosperous by letting the government take care of him:
better take a closer look at the American Indian.---Henry Ford
compunerdy
United States of America

Post by compunerdy »

He might be referring to the hi/low lever.
Tim
1975 710K
Pinzy

Post by Pinzy »

compunerdy wrote:He might be referring to the hi/low lever.

yes, i believe thats right, mine has a dark red ball knob on it. When do you deploy that?
1975 710M
1969 C10
1988 MB SL
1989 Ferrari
1997 MB E55
2004 LR Disco
2012 MB R350
2013 MB Sprinter
Pinz710m2

Post by Pinz710m2 »

In order to know what to do, you've got to understand what each
lever does. I'm going to make this as non-technical as possible,
so all you mechanics out there, don't post why I didn't mention
differentials or locking plates, etc.