Pertronix D186604 install

Dedicated to the memory and knowledge shared by Jim Mettler - All things relating to the flow of electrons in a Pinz.
Pipster69
Mexico

Pertronix D186604 install

Post by Pipster69 »

Hello,

I am a total NOOB in this and I have no real knowledge of mechanics so please bear with me...

I bought a 1972 710m in working conditions and after 6 months the Ignition system started to fail. I have been struggling to find a good mechanic that knows what to do here in Mexico but one of those mechanics did change the whole distributor to one for a VW Jetta. It did work for a while but now it is no working again. Another mechanic asked me to buy a Pertronix D186604 distributor and a PerTronix 40011 Coil, after spending around 500 USD he told me that he can not install the pertronix distributor since the he can't connect the 2 cables of the distributor to the harness that the Jetta distributor has.

All I want to know is if it is possible to use the pertronix distributor and coil that I bought on the pinz? or do I need to look into buying the original system or try the PinzSSI 2.0?

Thanks
rmel
United States of America

Re: Pertronix D186604 install

Post by rmel »

Sounds like swap until you drop strategy not good.

First I suspect the original distributor you had was perfectly
good and should not have been replaced -- hope you kept that.

Second, that flamethower coil is intended for 12V applications
not 24V.So I'd put the brakes on this project and rethink the
whole thing.

You need a far more knowledgeable mechanic, one possibility,
would be find a shop that specializes in off-roading, be it buggies,
jeeps, or ATV's. Go there, look around and see what vehicles
are in the yard and bays. You should be able to tell if they know
their stuff buy the stuff they work on. Failing that, I'd suggest
moving up to the PinzSSI, it is definitely a DIY project, the instructions
are excellent. Though you will need some basic tools to to this
installation.