Wider Tires? Getting rid of the camber problem?

Issues with shocks/springs, tires, steering box, stopping, etc.
djb_rh

Wider Tires? Getting rid of the camber problem?

Post by djb_rh »

So, what's the widest tire we can reasonably run on a 710? Both with stock wheels and with some kind of aftermarket wheel. I don't mind going with something that sticks out of the truck a little as I probably won't be doing many narrow trails with it, but the thing kind of sucks in the sand right now, which is my primary use venue.

Also, I'm still fairly new to this thing and the forum. I've seen some discussion in passing about people putting ballast in the bed to help with the extra rear camber thanks to the hauling capacity and suspension design. Is there a better way to "fix" that issue for those of us who don't need to maintain the hauling capacity as much? Softer spring set, perhaps? I'd think going with shorter springs would not be the ideal way to fix it. My Pinz will see some road time, so while I'm fine with an MT type tire, I do need to fix the camber thing if I'm gonna do that.

--Donnie
Erik712m

Post by Erik712m »

Also, I'm still fairly new to this thing and the forum. I've seen some discussion in passing about people putting ballast in the bed to help with the extra rear camber thanks to the hauling capacity and suspension design. Is there a better way to "fix" that issue for those of us who don't need to maintain the hauling capacity as much? Softer spring set, perhaps? I'd think going with shorter springs would not be the ideal way to fix it. My Pinz will see some road time, so while I'm fine with an MT type tire, I do need to fix the camber thing if I'm gonna do tha
Just remove a set of springs in the rear if you're not planning on caring any heavy loads.
pinzwheeling

Re: Wider Tires? Getting rid of the camber problem?

Post by pinzwheeling »