Engine swap without removing body

Issues pertaining to the TGB/C30X series engine and driveline issues
Eddydog
United States of America

Engine swap without removing body

Post by Eddydog »

Hi all, I'm new to the TGB owners club and I love it! I am planning on doing a swap to a 2.8 Cummins including trans and transfer case from a Jeep Liberty. Has anyone tried to do a swap without pulling the body off? I am thinking about trying to cut the existing mounts and drop it out the bottom, and then blocking the new one in place and welding motor mounts under it.

Crazy? Thoughts?

Thanks, Ed
Jim Molloy
United States of America

Re: Engine swap without removing body

Post by Jim Molloy »

Ed,
You are not crazy. Years ago, a friend went through two B30A motors in his TGB 13 airport fire truck. Replacing original motors/transmissions/transfer case by removing everything from below is quite easy. Around the same time, I completed a conversion of a TGB 1314 from original Volvo powerplant to a Mercedes OM617A turbodiesel harvested from a sedan of the early 1980s. The ambulance box was not mounted on the truck and I must say this increased access did ease the overall fitment fiddling that typically comes with a conversion of this type. We chose to use the original Volvo bell housing, transmission and transfer case so the only major issue was front motor mount placement. Since you are swapping out the entire Volvo package, you have the option to be more creative.