New member! Also, advice on a diesel pinz....

Mods, resto projects, library resources and anything else diesel related.
Sethsquatch
United States of America

New member! Also, advice on a diesel pinz....

Post by Sethsquatch »

Sethsquatch here from (currently) sunny Colorado!
I have been salivating over pinzes for 2 years now. Started with wondering what car Natalie Portman was driving in Thor, and here I am.
Am in negotiations with the guy selling the 1990 p90 718mw with the box on the back. Rhd 5 speed diesel.
Just wondering what the parts availability is for this engine. (or even what engine it has?)
Not trying to be a daily driver or anything like that. A once a month camping excursion vehicle. Tons of trails here in CO that offer dispersed camping. I live for it. Anyway, any advice on this would be greatly appreciated. Looking forward to going down the rabbit hole!
Cheers!
1990 718MW. Work in progress... (like they all are.)
Merrick
United States of America

Re: New member! Also, advice on a diesel pinz....

Post by Merrick »

Welcome sir,

That should be a good rig for ya. Andre at Fat Fabrications has some 718 parts and Jake Raby says the engines are still widely available in Europe. Just drive and enjoy.

cheers, Merrick
Joeri
Belgium

Post by Joeri »

Well this would be a 2.4 liter 6 cyl turbo diesel from vw/ audi....it is known as the vw LT engine as it was used in there vw LT vans but the same engine was also used by Volvo in the 200, 700 series :wink:
Joeri
Belgium

Post by Joeri »

Yes the engines you can find them here but they are getting more and more rare every year....they are getting old and with all the emision controles and rules not wanted so much anymore. :cry:
David Dunn
United States of America

Post by David Dunn »