Any info on pinzy.... just got a new one!

Mods, resto projects, library resources and anything else diesel related.
Torchd

Any info on pinzy.... just got a new one!

Post by Torchd »

HI.

Im a newbie here. I've just bought a 716 1992 pinzyTurbo diesel... and need information on that... like anything i can know about it.. engine specs, is it all time four wheel drive? how can i engage the diff locks?

Would some one know whats the LUG pattern on the pinzy? it has five bolts and can i install 15 inch rims on it instead of 16's?
VIN is 716 2 112 0003357

Would appreciate all the help.

Thanks.
David Dunn
United States of America

Post by David Dunn »

Hi Torchd
The breakdown on your VIN is a short wheelbase, open top ( model is"M" ), 2.4TD engine with 5 speed gear box, left hand steering. From the chassis number, I'd suspect you have a P93 with the lastest 2.4 TD with the innercooler, (before the 2.5TDI ). The radiator grille will have 4 horizonal cutouts ( 2 by 2) over 7 vertical cutouts. A P90 would have 8 horizonal slots ( 4 by 2 ) over a bunch of vertical slots.
As I stated in the other thread, the lug bolt pattern is the same as the Puch G Wagon ( the actual size alludes me right now). But 16" rims are the perfered rims here .....my friends with military G Wagons keep eyeing my truck's rims :lol:
The 716's also have a pneumatic automatic leveling rear suspension. Unless your truck was modified, it probably sags in the rear when parked overnight, and a air compressor comes on when you start the truck to level the the cargo area.
Dave Dunn
The Trojan Horse... the 1st Pinz used to covertly carry troops into battle .

ATL Pinzgauer XM 718K TUM(HD) 6x6 FFR (aka The Green Grail)
Torchd

Post by Torchd »

Thanks David....

The truck is not with me yet still has to be delivered!

Well yes it is an M with five speed but its a RIGHT HAND DRIVE! i do not know if it has the intercooler or not!

I think its a P90... i will post sum pix.