Any hunters on the board?

All things not relating to the other forums.
VinceAtReal4x4s
Admin
United States of America

Any hunters on the board?

Post by VinceAtReal4x4s »

I was wondering if there are any experienced deer hunters on the board. I need to know a couple of basic things just to make sure I'm being accurate for a writing project Im working on.

If you are hunting for food, do you normally go for a doe or buck, or does it matter? Do some people only hunt bucks, and if so, why? Would it be questionable to hunt for a doe in any way? (assuming it doesn't have babies hanging around)

I assume state law has something to do with it, but pretend that doesn't exist anymore. ;)

Thanks.
"For those who risk, life has a flavor the protected shall never enjoy"

Your donation makes this site possible!

undysworld
Norway

Re: Any hunters on the board?

Post by undysworld »

Hi Vince,

I'm no pro, but I've shot a few. An ex-roommate suggested that since I like venison sausage, I should understand where it came from.

Like beef, young ones taste better. What you think of as a big buck is likely an old, tough, more gamey tasting animal. I choose only the youngest or a doe, and I'm only hunting for food. Some folks only hunt for a big buck, and from what I understand they often have the head mounted for display. Bucks are typically much more wary and more difficult to get a shot at. Some guys get all bent out of shape if you shoot a doe, and I believe they are of the buck-hunting mindset. I think it has to do with the idea that there will be more bucks birthed if you have more doe left.

I'm sure others will have more to offer.
edzz
United States of America

Post by edzz »

The rules for deer hunting vary by state and region. This web site details the seasons for my area http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/doc ... bgDeer.pdf as you can see seasons exist for antlered and antlerless hunting.