soft shackles

All things not relating to the other forums.
krick3tt

soft shackles

Post by krick3tt »

I receive an off road mag 'Outdoor X4' with lots of places to explore and information that is (to me) worth the read.
There is a product mentioned on recovery gear that places questions in my mind. Soft shackles by Lucky8 company. the rating is 18,000 pounds and they
are touted to actually be light enough to float if dropped in water when your fumbling fingers refuse to work.
Anyone have experience with this type of product? I am a bit reluctant to place my faith in them and would rather use my 1 inch metal shackles for recovery, if I need to actually use the tree strap or a similar item.
I also don't have synthetic line in my winch so I am not experienced with the properties of that material.

Happy trails and holidays to you all.
Any man who thinks he can be happy and prosperous by letting the government take care of him:
better take a closer look at the American Indian.---Henry Ford
EmbarkChief
United States of America

Re: soft shackles

Post by EmbarkChief »

Sounds like a pretty cool idea, from the safety standpoint it sounds like a win. Not much scares me more than a shackle flying back at me at Mach 1 when using a snatch strap for recoveries. I try to avoid using them at all costs but sometimes you don't have that option.
-1972 710M
TechMOGogy
Canada

Post by TechMOGogy »

I made some last year: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8284&hilit=soft+shackle

Fun, easy to make and I had Andre modify the winch mount he was making me to accept the soft shackles (rounded edges). Ask him how much fun that was to do :mrgreen:

Here are the ones I made
Made with Amsteel-Blue (yes they are red)
The four 5/16" have a break strength of 18,500 lbs (Haflinger use) and the two 1/2" are more Pinz/Mog sized with a break strength of 45,000+ lbs
I need to load them and then I can trim the tails.
SSh.jpg
SSh.jpg (54.8 KiB) Viewed 4299 times
My video of how they work: