A Quick Introduction

All things not relating to the other forums.
Aparks1

A Quick Introduction

Post by Aparks1 »

Hello All!

I wanted to introduce myself before I start flooding yall with questions.

I grew up outside of Detroit, always tinkering on cars, electronics and houses. In 2007, I finished my degree in construction management and moved down to Greenville, SC. I took a job with a custom high end home builder and was able to further educate myself in most divisions of construction. Last year, I transitioned into facilities maintenance with a small but growing general contracting firm. I now manage about 18 facilities and oversee smaller projects. I enjoy the outdoors, design and architecture as well as comedy and improv.

Restoring a classic car has been a life long dream of mine, with a great job, an understanding wife and no kids yet, I took the first step in making that dream a reality. I recently took delivery of a 1974 710m. It runs and drives ok, the body and interior will require quite bit of work.

Yesterday I started removing everything from the cab to get a better understanding of the scope of work. I ran into a few surprises and now have several questions...

The truck has the original ventilation duct work, I know that the original brake pads have asbestos, but I'm unclear on whether or not any of the duct work is wrapped with an asbestos insulation. Can anyone confirm asbestos?

The carbs and ignition coil appear to have been replaced. Can anyone confirm this and provide more details on the parts?(I'm working from my phone and believe I have uploaded the images correctly)

Last question for now - i have a very difficult time Finding second gear when shifting, is this common and what can I do to help?

Thanks in advance. I look forward to being part of your community.

Alex
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg (1000.07 KiB) Viewed 2375 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (617.3 KiB) Viewed 2375 times
crcpinz

Re: A Quick Introduction

Post by crcpinz »